Final Project- The Communication

For my partner and my final art project we went for a way to create a way to connect to the line on a higher level of understanding than what we have previously had before.

A big part of the reason why I liked the idea of creating our own calvinball was because I really didn’t have a personal connection with the line and I didn’t enjoy it. But by playing a game with friends on the line I was able to make that personal connection because I had so much fun. I really enjoyed mixing the friends that were there. I had some friends that I am very close with and I also got to play with people that I had met 5 minutes before. We all might not have been the most compfortable  when we first played because we didn’t know everyone all that well but as soon as we started playing we completely forgot that they were strangers and just had fun playing.

The game that Calvin and Hobbes play in the comics is called Calvinball. Its a game with rules that are made up as you go. I think that the left a lasting effect on me was that the Calvin and Hobbes comics was something I read all the time as a kid. It was one of the first books that got me interested in reading as a hobby.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 9.28.10 PM

IMG_2351
These were my hands after pitching the apples. I found it funny because after it dried I removed my rings and there was a ring negative
IMG_2353
This is the bag that we put the paint on to roll the apple in before throwing it to the hitter.
On this team we had Isaac Baskin and William Rusch. This team went first and won with a total of around 9 runs in the 4 minute time period.
On this team we had Chandler, Matt, Isaac Baskin and William Rusch. This team went first and won with a total of around 9 runs in the 4 minute time period.
This was the second group that went. Starting on the left Kendra Byrwa, Carolynn Findley, Henri Roque and myself.
This was the second group that went. Starting on the left Kendra Byrwa, Carolynn Findley, Henri Roque and myself.

This is the final video that we made to show and document our project on the line:

One of the days that I hiked to the top of the line I created the “Fruit of the line stadium”. I lined the area that we played in with large sticks that I found in the surrounding woods.

The bat that Henri and I found previously broke on the first pitch so we had to go through and try to find another stick that would work as a bat. Since our friends were there they helped us try to find one:

Leave a Reply

